Ash Barty makes Newcombe Medal history, Evonne Goolagong Cawley honoured at 2022 Australian Tennis Awards

Home Sports Ash Barty makes Newcombe Medal history, Evonne Goolagong Cawley honoured at 2022 Australian Tennis Awards
Ash Barty makes Newcombe Medal history, Evonne Goolagong Cawley honoured at 2022 Australian Tennis Awards

Despite being retired, Ash Barty continues to make history, picking up the Newcombe Medal for a record fifth time.

The 26-year-old was presented the highest individual honour in Australian tennis by John Newcombe at Melbourne’s Crown Palladium. 

Barty was recognised for her exceptional 2022 summer, where she won the Australian Open women’s singles title without dropping a set, simultaneously becoming the first home-grown winner in 44 years.

In January, the former world No. 1 notched 11 singles and four doubles victories. 

MORE: Australian summer of tennis schedule revealed for 2023

Barty won’t be able to pick up a sixth consecutive Newcombe Medal next year, however, with the Australian announcing her retirement just months after her triumph at Melbourne Park.

“It’s obviously an amazing way to cap off what has been an incredible journey,” she told reporters at the Australian Tennis Awards.

“The journey of a lifetime, the journey of me chasing after my dreams and exploring what was possible out in the world.”

MORE: Kyrgios and Tsitsipas team up following Wimbledon feud

Despite leaving professional tennis, Barty still has plenty on her plate.

She has maintained her connection to the sport as the National Indigenous Tennis Ambassador as well as launching a children’s book series titled ‘Little Ash’.

On top of this, the dual-sport star was named as Optus’ new ‘Chief of Inspiration’ in August, where she works alongside ‘Chief of Optimism’ and Formula 1 Red Bull third driver Daniel Ricciardo.

Tennis legend Evonne Goolagong Cawley was also honoured at the Crown Palladium on Monday night, receiving the Spirit of Tennis Award.

The seven-time Grand Slam singles champion has been retired for nearly forty years but continues to work in the tennis community.

Notably, the 71-year-old encourages the participation of First Nations youth through her personal foundation. 

Goolagong Cawley was presented the award by Barty, with the pair sharing a close bond.

“I just wanted to say how proud I am to be here tonight,” Goolagong Cawley said. 

“And getting this award was a real surprise, I must admit, and from someone who I just absolutely adore.”

Full list: 2022 Australian Tennis Awards recipients

Per Tennis Australia

Newcombe Medal: Ash Barty (QLD)

Spirit of Tennis Award: Evonne Goolagong Cawley (NSW)

Female Junior Athletes of the Year: Talia Gibson (WA) and Taylah Preston (WA)

Male Junior Athlete of the Year: Edward Winter (SA)

Most Outstanding Athlete with a Disability: Heath Davidson (VIC)

Most Outstanding School: Aitken Creek Primary School (VIC)

Most Outstanding Tennis Club or Venue: Collaroy Tennis Club (NSW)

30+ Tennis Senior of the Year: Jarrod Broadbent (VIC)

Coaching Excellence – Club: David Grainger (SA)

Coaching Excellence – Development: Luke Bourgeois (NSW)

Coaching Excellence – Performance: Craig Tyzzer (VIC)

Excellence in Officiating: Robyn Tucker (SA)

Most Outstanding Tournament: Euroa Lawn Tennis Club Labour Day (VIC)

Volunteer Achievement Award: Julie Polkinghorne (SA)

When is the 2023 Australian Open?

As usual, the first Grand Slam tournament of the New Year will be the Australian Open.

Held at Melbourne Park, the event will take place from January 16 to January 29.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.