How the start to Craig Fitzgibbon’s NRL coaching career at Cronulla stacks up

Home Sports How the start to Craig Fitzgibbon’s NRL coaching career at Cronulla stacks up
How the start to Craig Fitzgibbon’s NRL coaching career at Cronulla stacks up

Craig Fitzgibbon’s start to life as an NRL head coach has been one filled with optimism and garnished with a couple of harsh lessons.

Having served his apprenticeship under Trent Robinson at the Roosters for several years, as well as dabbled in the representative arena with various NSW Origin roles, Fitzgibbon finally took the plunge into head coaching this season with the job at Cronulla and has settled into the position with aplomb.

Cronulla have played a tough yet entertaining brand of football that has been the admiration of many opposition teams and appear destined for future success under their new coach. 

Although it’s too early to forecast premierships, by winning six out of his opening ten games with the Sharks, the start to Fitzgibbon’s head coaching career when compared with others who have gone on to win NRL titles deserves recognition.

So how does he stack up against other coaches over the last 20 years in their rookie NRL season?


Coach (Club) Year Wins Finish
Trent Robinson (Roosters) 2013 8 Premiership
Kevin Moore (Bulldogs) 2009 8 Preliminary Final
Anthony Griffin (Broncos) 2011 7 Preliminary Final
Paul McGregor (Dragons) 2015 7 Qualifying Final
Brad Fittler (Roosters) 2008  6 Semi Final
Craig Fitzgibbon (Sharks) 2022 6  –
Brad Arthur (Eels) 2014 6 Qualifying Final
Anthony Seibold (Rabbitohs) 2018 6 Preliminary Final
Michael Maguire (Rabbitohs) 2012 6 Preliminary Final
Geoff Toovey (Sea Eagles) 2012 6 Preliminary Final
Adam O’Brien (Knights) 2020 6 Qualifying Final
Craig Bellamy (Storm) 2003 6 Semi Final
Ricky Stuart (Roosters) 2002 6 Premiership
Jason Demetriou (Rabbitohs) 2022 5  –
Neil Henry (Raiders) 2007 5 14th
Paul Green (Cowboys) 2014 5 Semi-Final
Andrew McFadden (Warriors) 2015 5 13th
John Morris (Sharks) 2019 5 Qualifying Final
Steve Price (Dragons) 2012 5 9th
Nathan Brown (Dragons) 2003 5 11th
Trent Barrett (Sea Eagles) 2016 4 12th
John Cartwright (Titans) 2007 4 12th
Ivan Cleary (Warriors) 2006 4 10th
Todd Payten (Cowboys) 2021 4 14th
Jason Taylor (Rabbitohs) 2007 4 Qualifying Final
Rick Stone (Knights) 2010 4 11th
Des Hasler (Sea Eagles) 2004 3 13th
Justin Holbrook (Titans) 2020 3 9th
Shane Flanagan (Sharks) 2011 3 13th
Stephen Kearney (Eels) 2011 3 14th
Dean Pay (Bulldogs) 2018 3 12th
Garth Brennan (Titans) 2018 3 14th
Matthew Elliott (Raiders) 2002 2 Qualifying Final
David Furner (Raiders) 2009 2 13th
Michael Potter (Tigers) 2013 2 15th
Kevin Walters (Broncos) 2021 2 14th



As far as rookie seasons go as a coach, Trent Robinson’s in 2013 will be a tough one for anyone to beat.

After joining the Tricolours following a two-year coaching apprenticeship at Catalans, Robinson took the club to an NRL premiership in his first season.

While he was just the sixth person ever to win a premiership in their rookie season as coach, he was the youngest ever to achieve that feat. 

It laid the foundations for Robinson to now be known as the most successful coach in Roosters history, with three premierships already to his name and perhaps more on the horizon.


Under the tutelage of coaching director Phil Gould, a 34-year-old Ricky Stuart took on the job at the Roosters in 2002.

Only two years retired from his playing career, Stuart had very little exposure to the wild world of coaching before taking the reins of the traditional club.

Starting his career 1-4, it was a baptism of fire for the Raiders great, but he managed to turn things around, with the Roosters winning nine of their next 11 matches.

It was the start of something very special in Bondi, with Stuart going on to miraculously lead the Tricolours to their first title since 1975 in just his first season at the helm.



Paul Green is the Cowboys’ only premiership-winning coach and remarkably led them to the title in just his second season as an NRL coach.

Green moved from a role as an assistant under Trent Robinson at the Rosters to take on the head coaching job in North Queensland in 2014 and had immediate success.

While the Cowboys won five of their opening 10 games under Green that year, they came home with a wet sail, winning eight of their final 10 games to finish in fifth after the regular season, before being knocked out by the Roosters in the semi-finals.

Green’s impressive first year at the helm would lay the foundations for the 2015 season, where the Cowboys lost just eight games and went on to win one of the most iconic grand finals of all time against Brisbane.


Although it took Michael Maguire three goes before securing his first premiership, the start to his NRL coaching career deserves recognition.

‘Madge’ took the reigns at Redfern in 2012 after a title-laden stint at St. Helens in the Super League, guiding the Rabbitohs to their first preliminary final since 1989.

There was a sense that under Maguire, South Sydney was on the verge of a return to its glory days, and while they fell agonisingly short again in 2013, losing in the preliminary finals again that year, they didn’t have to wait much longer.

Maguire and his side made no mistake in 2014, finishing the regular season in third before going on a stunning finals run to claim their first premiership and snap a 43-year title drought.

Maguire would coach his last season at Redfern three seasons later, but he will forever be seen as a Rabbitohs hero after coaching them to glory in 2014.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.